Alamo Heights Independent School District traces its history from the
year 1909 when the first school, a two-room wooden frame building on
Townsend Avenue, was built in this picturesque area as part of a rural
county district. A new school building of masonry was later
constructed on the site that is now Cambridge Elementary School. In
1923, just one year after the high school building was added to the
growing campus, the Alamo Heights system became an independent school
district of 300 students.
While the hub of activity for Alamo Heights students centered
at Cambridge until the 1950's, the district branched out into the
neighboring community at the former cement plant near
Jones-Maltsberger Road, also called "Cementville." Known as the
"Bluebonnet School, " the Alamo Heights Ward School served children
whose parents worked at the plant.
The present athletic stadium was built in 1938 by the Work
Projects Administration. Originally, games were played at Howard Field
on the present Cambridge site, where former head coach Earl "Mule "
Frazier led the football team to a first district championship in 1926
- and lent Alamo Heights its mascot.
World War II was responsible for a very real transition for
Alamo Heights from a rural district to a suburban district,
accompanied by the baby boom and opening of numerous subdivisions
within district boundaries. In fact, the district almost doubled
during that time.
To continue to meet the needs of a growing population, the
district erected Alamo Heights High School in 1949-50, the original
unit of Woodridge Elementary in 1951-52, Howard Early Childhood Center
in 1956, Alamo Heights Junior School in 1959, and the former Robbins
Elementary School in 1964.
Today, the Alamo Heights Independent School District covers
9.4 square miles and serves students from the communities of Alamo
Heights, Terrell Hills, Olmos Park, and a portion of north San