Dyslexia

Dyslexia Artwork

CURRENT DEFINITION OF DYSLEXIA

Dyslexia is a specific learning disability that is neurological in origin. It is characterized by difficulties with accurate and/or fluent word recognition and by poor spelling and decoding abilities. These difficulties typically result from a deficit in the phonological component of language that is often unexpected in relation to other cognitive abilities and the provision of effective classroom instruction. Secondary consequences may include problems in reading comprehension and reduced reading experience that can impede growth of vocabulary and background knowledge.

(Adopted by the International Dyslexia Association Board of Directors, November 12, 2002).

AHISD PROFESSIONAL SCHOOL COUNSELOR CONTACT PERSONS

Cambridge Elementary – (210) 822-3611

  • Lauren Boyher
  • Jessica Ponce

Woodridge Elementary – (210) 826-8021

  • Maria Gonzales
  • Christa Stephens

Alamo Heights Junior School – (210) 832-5790

  • Michael Snell (A-K)
  • Claudia Gonzales (L-Z)

Alamo Heights High School – (210) 832-5775

  • Stephanie Hughes (A-E)
  • Monica McCune (F-Le)
  • Magda Lopez (Li-Rh)
  • Amanda Pedroza (Ri-Z)

AHISD DYSLEXIA STAFF

Cambridge dyslexia teachers

 Cammie Blake  click here for email cammieb@ahisd.net
 Suzanne Arevalo  click here for email sarevalo@ahisd.net
 Missy Garza  click here for email mgarza@ahisd.net
 Karen Mueller  click here for email kmueller@ahisd.net

Woodridge dyslexia teachers

 Zandra Celis-Hardin  click here for email zhardin@ahsid.net
 Terri Williams  click here for email twilliams@ahisd.net
 Hilda Morales-Roybal  click here for email hmoralesroybal@ahisd.net

Alamo Heights Junior School dyslexia teacher

 Kristi Zorn  click here for email kzorn@ahisd.net

 


Helpful Links
 
Dyslexia Handbook 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.